Let me start by saying that I am  no computer buff.  I have a hard time understanding the difference between the hard drive and the registry. I like to stick to the basics. I know a bit about my computer’s keyboard and the mouse. Wireless technologies freak me out a little bit, but I’ve figured out how to work components that aren’t tethered to my machine by a cord. Needless to say, when my registry went haywire a few months ago, I felt like I was in a bit of a pickle. I wasn’t sure where to start. All I knew was that I needed  registry repair software.

 

A friend of mine said that my computer was probably freezing up and crashing due to “registry problems”. At first her recommended that I look into registry cleaners, but then said that maybe registry repair software would be a better choice for me since he wasn’t exactly sure what was going on. I trust my friend but he isn’t a computer scientist by any means. Nonetheless, my options were limited, so I took my friends advice. I figured it wouldn’t hurt anything to download the software and give it a try.

 

So I found some registry repair software online and downloaded it. It wasn’t difficult or challenging, but I still felt intimidated because this is just my style. The software promised to clean, repair, and organize my registry. I wasn’t sure why this would be important. I decided that rather than live in ignorance that I should probably look it up, so I did a bit of research to discover how my Windows registry worked. Although I’m quite sure that I don’t understand all the ins and outs of it, after doing the research, I did feel more confident about setting the repair software loose to do its thing on my machine.

 

The registry is apparently like the brains of the computer. This still confuses me somewhat because I always thought that the hard drive would be considered the “brains”. But the registry is like a conscience perhaps, or maybe the frontal lobe. It’s the part of the brain that manages the “social” behavior of the computer. When my computer is acting psychotic or demented, it may very well have a registry problem. In contrast, the hard drive is more like the cerebral cortex or perhaps the part of the brain that stores memories and thoughts. You can still interact with a well-behaved computer that has no memories and doesn’t know anything (kind of), but a computer with a malfunctioning frontal lobe by go crazy and take everyone else around it along with. Registry repair software is kind of like a therapist that my computer sees once a month, to keep it level and feeling at one with the world.

 

The registry repair software  worked fabulously. It did what I wanted it to do anyway. My computer seems happier now than it has in many months.  I realized that my computer and I have a sort of symbiotic relationship and that my emotional state of being is intimately tied to whether or not my computer is treating me well or not. This realization has prompted me to spend more time providing my computer with at least a monthly dose of tender loving care, which in turn has made my overall demeanor much brighter.

